Welcome visitor you can log in or create an account

129° AB. ARG. HSBC - Fecha 9 - P2

25-11-2022 PALERMO OPEN
Written by: Argentine Polo Association
Photography Matías Callejo / Prensa AAP



In a stupendous “semifinal” played on Friday 11/25 on field 1 in Palermo, La Natividad defeated La Irenita Grand Champions 15-14 , taking the Volkswagen Cup that was at stake and as the undefeated winner of Zone A. , qualified as a finalist of the 129th HSBC Polo Argentine Open.




It was a great game from start to finish, with two teams looking for the win that would place them in the final. Finally, it was left for the Verdiblanco team by very little, with an unstoppable Camilo Castagnola, author of 11 goals. On the other hand, La Irenita leaves with a bitter taste but knowing that she left her life on the court and being the protagonist in the 2022 Triple Crown.

Now La Natividad calmly awaits its rival for the final next Friday 12/2, in which it will seek to defend the crown achieved the previous year.

The teams and progression:

La Natividad: Camilo Castagnola 10 (11 goals, eight penalties), Pablo Pieres 10 (1), Bartolomé Castagnola (h) 10 (1) and Ignatius du Plessis 9 (2). Overall: 39.

La Irenita Grand Champions: Juan Britos (h) 9 (5, one penalty), Francisco Elizalde 9 (5, three penalties), Pablo Mac Donough 10 (2, one penalty) and Juan M. Zubía 8 (2) . Overall: 36.




The Nativity: 2-2, 2-4, 5-5, 6-6, 8-9, 12-9, 13-13 and 15-14.


Judges: Martin Pascual and William Villanueva (h).            Referee: Jose I. Araya.



The CABA Legislature presented the AAP with a commemorative plaque for the 100th anniversary of the founding of the mother entity of Argentine polo. Roberto García Moritán, legislator from the Autonomous City of Buenos Aires, was in charge of delivering the plaque to Delfín Uranga, president of the AAP.




On Friday the 25th, starting at 6:00 p.m., the polo festivities continue. In addition to the best gastronomy, you will be able to enjoy the Tommy Muñoz set ; and the recitals by Migrantes and Juan Ingaramo . Don't miss them!


Buy your tickets for the after at https://www.ticketek.com.ar/after-polo/campo-argentino-de-polo



On Sunday 27, for Zone B they will play at 2:00 p.m. on field 2, La Irenita Clinova vs. La Esquina, a group from the classification and that must win if it wants to have a place in the Triple Crown 2023 – it has not yet added points in the Ranking. In this match the Trapiche Cup will be at stake.


At 4:30 p.m., on field 1, a new edition of the Argentine polo superclassic will be played: La Dolfina Saudi, undefeated in the tournament and with the return of Uruguayan Pelón Stirling, vs. , Ellerstina Turismo Felgueres , a team forced to win by 3 goals ahead and converting 8 goals or more to achieve their goal. The winner of the match will take the Imperial Cup.


Get your tickets at https://www.ticketek.com.ar/triple-corona-2022/campo-argentino-de-polo

 All matches are broadcast live on Star+ (Argentina and Latin America) and via streaming on https://live.aapolo.com/ Subscribe!


The formations of Sunday 11/27 – Zone B:

14.00 – Court 2 – Trapiche Cup

La Irenita Clinova: Facundo Fernandez 8, Thomas Fernandez (h) 8, Bautista Bayugar 8 and Isidro Strada 8. Total:


La Esquina: Pascual Sáinz de Vicuña 6, Cristian Laprida (m) 8, Lucas James 7 and Ignacio Laprida 8. Total: 29.

Judges: Matías Baibiene and Martín Pascual.                           Referee: Martin Aguerre.


16.30 – Field 1 – Imperial Cup

La Dolfina Saudi: Adolfo Cambiaso (h) 10, David Stirling (h) 10, Adolfo Cambiaso (n) 9 and Juan M. Nero 10. Total: 39.


Ellerstina Turismo Felgueres: Facundo Pieres 10, Hilario Ulloa 9, Gonzalo Pieres (m) 9 and Nicolás Pieres 10. Total: 38.

Judges: Gaston Lucero and Gonzalo Lopez Vargas.               Referee: Jose I. Araya.


The formations that are free on these dates:



The Cove RS Murus Sanctus: Facundo Sola 8, Alfredo Bigatti 9, William Caset (h) 9 and Matthias Torres Zavaleta 8. Total:



Breed The Dolphin: William Terrera (h) 9, Thomas Panelo 8, Diego Cavanagh 8 and Alejo Taranco 8. Total:


They are sponsors of the 129th Argentine Polo Open HSBC, HSBC as Title Sponsor; Volkswagen as Gold Sponsor; ESPN, Imperial, Motorola, Johnnie Walker, Trapiche, La Nación and Omint as Official Sponsors; La Martina, CentraLab, Case IH, Río Uruguay Seguros and US Polo Assn. as Sponsors; and Casablanca, Termas de Río Hondo and Argentine Beef as Advertisers; while WE ARE SPORTS is the exclusive commercial agent.